Michael Standard

Composer and Percussionist

Michael Standard is a composer and percussionist. His compositions seek a singular voice from explorations into expressions of human spirit, scientific exploration, contemplative practice, and communicative principles. Each of his works is formulated with its own identity, while remaining conscientious of its social and artistic context. Michael organized a series of performances of his chamber work while living in Atlanta, including Beltline Aviary, a flute/percussion duet commissioned by Art on the Beltline, based on birdsongs common around the City of Atlanta. He also composed and premiered the duet Cynomys: on Distraction with saxophonist Reese Burgan (Lone Star College, TX) in 2016. His work, mechanics to wit for piano and electronics, was selected for a performance at the 2018 Electroacoustic Barn Dance in Jacksonville, FL, and his brass quintet, (Un)becoming, was premiered by the Atlantic Brass Quintet for the inaugural Mostly Modern Festival in Saratoga Springs, NY. Michael recently completed a tabla concerto for Shawn Mativetsky and the New Jersey Percussion Ensemble, and a Horn Concerto for Eric Hawkins (University of West Georgia) with the McCormick Percussion Group. Current projects include a band work for Xian Liangjiatan International School (Xian, China) and a vibraphone solo for Sarek Gutierrez (San Antonio, TX).

Michael maintains an active performance career as a freelance musician. He has performed for new music events such as the Mostly Modern Festival and the Terroir New Music series. Michael has also attended the So Percussion Summer Institute as a performer, where he worked closely with the members of So Percussion and performed works of their core repertoire. While living in Atlanta, Michael taught music theory and composition for the inaugural Atlanta Music Project Summer Series and Charles R. Drew Charter School. He also taught percussion at the Atlanta International School. His teachers include Baljinder Sekhon, Robert Scott Thompson, Paul Reller, Stuart Gerber, Charles Settle, and Robert McCormick.